Some explanations of what the entries on the rest of the site mean:
|
|
Additional note on direct access brokers (November 13, 2007): Some of the newer direct access brokers avoid posting clear information about platform fees, ECN fees, and data fees on their websites. In addition, I have been getting emails which try to give the impression that they are from users of my site sending me information to be helpful, when they are actually from owners or executives of some of these newer direct access brokers, and the content is promotional. For example, today I received an email whose entire text is as follows: "Hi, Do you have any info or reviews on www.protradefinancial.com ? They are new but it's a cutting edge hybrid platform that combines electronic trading with broker dealer market color and trade ideas. Unique idea............. Thanks, JP" The email was sent from ACQUA0926@aol.com, an address used by one Jon Acquafredda. Jon Acquafredda is a "Senior Managing Partner" at Meridian Equity Partners, which is the owner of ProTrade Financial. In my opinion, the style and content of the email, the use of a private, independent email address, and the signature are disingenuous. This leads me to doubt the honesty and the professionalism of the brokers involved. Although most of the emails I get from brokers are honest, this is not an isolated incident. |
|
Additional note on sites pretending to help protect against forex fraud (July 14, 2010): Among the frauds and scams related to currency trading, one of the latest is the appearance of dishonest sites purporting to help protect you from... frauds and scams related to currency trading. One of these sites has been nagging me to "collaborate and improve both our sites". Nothing fraudulent about that so far, although any email which is unsolicited and commercial is suspicious. (Among the organizations which consider 'unsolicited commercial email' to be a synonym for email spam are several US government agencies.) When I looked at their site, I noticed that none of the larger forex trading sites are among the ones they list, and all of the ones they list (and link) are praised to the heavens. This suggests that they are trying to represent paid advertisements as objective evaluations. At one point, the representative who originally contacted me claimed to be using the automatic reply function to reply to an email he received from me, and tried to mark one of his email headers to look that way. He seems to have been lying outright. He should have studied a little about SMTP and POP3 headers before trying something like that. Their most recent email to me suggests that they "sponsor [my site] with articles...." And continues: "I have a team of experts who can provide these articles for your site." Again, nothing clearly fraudulent, but it does sound as if they want to me to pass off paid advertising as informational "articles", as they seem to be doing. If you are considering forex trading and are worried about frauds and scams, you might want to
|
| Last updated: July 14, 2010 | Home. |